Looking for:
Learn microsoft powerpoint 2016 free
To open the pane in PPT , from the Home tab, select the Arrange tool drop down and then select the Selection Pane at the bottom of the dropdown.
Normally, you can click something with your mouse to activate it in PowerPoint. Look for the underlined letters in the words within the dialog box, which you can activate by holding the ALT key and hitting those letters on your keyboard. To learn how to use the strikethrough shortcut click here. These shortcuts allow you to quickly navigate, select, edit and rearrange blocks of text… which is likely what you are dong ALL DAY long.
Of all the places to lose time when working under a tight deadline, the last thing you want to stumble on is simply flipping through and arranging your presentations. These efforts create new value, improve your skill and are hard to replicate. For more details about these two shortcuts including the brand-new one , see our article here. An example of using the drawing guides is setting the left side of your slide where you want all of your objects to start on each and every slide.
Once the line is set, you can then see that line on all of your slides and layout your content accordingly. Typically you only need the ruler for adjusting your bullet point spacing, so having a quick way to turn it on and off is handy. What these do is allow you to rotate between the open panes in the PowerPoint environment of which there are five default ones and any other panes or dialog boxes that you have open. Also, both of these panes have very useful keyboard shortcuts associated with them.
So after opening it, hit F6 on your keyboard and you will rotate to it, and use your other select pane shortcuts. The Outline View is great for managing large presentations, as it allows you to quickly cycle through, rearrange and evaluate your content at a 30, foot view. To use all of the Outline View shortcuts, you need to be active in the Outline View from your keyboard… you cannot just select it with your mouse. See the Navigating Active Panes shortcuts for more.
To expand your knowledge and learn more about using Outline View in PowerPoint, read our guide here. Closing vs. Creating and opening presentations. It is a subtle difference, but if you are frequently opening and closing presentations, these shortcuts will help you jump start your search more effectively depending on where you want to start. Save As F12 is a slightly more advanced version of the Save shortcut, as it allows you to save your file with a new name, change its save location or change its file type.
The most frequently used alternative file type is the PDF file format, which you can select in the drop down. Two of the often overlooked printing options are the Notes pages and the Outline View. To learn how to print multiple slides per page using the Print dialog box, read our guide here.
You can use the Save As F12 shortcut to protect your presentation by saving it as the Picture Slideshow file type. Doing so turns your presentation into pictures that someone can run natively in PowerPoint in Slideshow mode, but cannot edit.
To learn more click here. You have two inking options in PowerPoint the pen and the highlighter which allow you draw on your slides during your presentation to make your point visually. To pre-ink your slide, simply open the ink tools, which you can find on the Review tab. You can then draw on your slides however you like and make your notes. I find the Start from Current Slide the most flexible for spot checking your content in fullscreen mode, and rehearsing individual slides in the new Presenter View.
Although it might appear to take more time, it makes spotting embarrassing presentation errors significantly easier when you are simple-mindedly focused on a specific error. For example, if you want to jump to slide number 22, hit 2, then 2, and then ENTER and you will jump to slide A third option is to use hyperlinks, which you can also navigate to from your keyboard in Slideshow mode.
See our guide here for details. For example, you could search for the name of your product to jump to its description. Getting the most out of PowerPoint takes some time, but with a little experimentation, you can have a unique and effective presentation.
See Step 1 below to get started. Create slideshows from templates or start from scratch. Add transitions between slides. Create solid or gradient backgrounds. Insert images and graphics. Embed video. Did this summary help you? Yes No. Log in Social login does not work in incognito and private browsers.
Please log in with your username or email to continue. No account yet? Create an account. Popular Categories. Arts and Entertainment Artwork Books Movies. Relationships Dating Love Relationship Issues. Hobbies and Crafts Crafts Drawing Games. All Categories. Edit this Article. We use cookies to make wikiHow great. By using our site, you agree to our cookie policy.
Cookie Settings. Learn why people trust wikiHow. Download Article Explore this Article parts. Related Articles. Article Summary. Part 1. Choose between a blank presentation and a template. When you start a new PowerPoint file, you can either create a blank presentation or a template. Blank presentations allow you to apply your own style, but this can be a time-consuming process. Templates can give your presentation a uniform style, but they may not suit your exact needs. You can edit any aspect of a template, so feel free to choose one that mostly matches your vision and tweak it as you see fit.
You can apply themes to your project at a later time after you’ve added content. Click the Design tab and select a theme. It will be immediately applied to your project. You can access templates from the File tab.
Click New and then browse the available templates. You can also download additional templates from a variety of resources online. Create your title slide. Your title is the first thing that your audience will see. It should be easy to read and give a basic overview about the topic of the presentation. Most presenters will include their or their group’s name on the title as well. Add new slides for content. A blank slide will be added after the slide you are currently on.
The slide will contain a title box and a text box. You can choose to use these or insert your own objects using the Insert tab. When adding a text box, you can click and drag to make it whatever size you’d like. You can then adjust this later by grabbing one of the corners with your cursor and then clicking and dragging again. You can click on any text box and start typing to begin adding text to your presentation. You can format text just as you would in Word, with formatting options available in the Home tab.
Navigate your presentation. You can use the frame on the left side of the window to quickly scroll through your slides. Clicking any of them will open that slide so that you can edit it.
You can click the Outline tab to see an outline tree of your presentation. Each slide will be labeled by the slide title. Preview your presentation. You can get a basic feel for the flow of your presentation at this point by pressing F5 to start the slide show. Click the mouse to advance the slides. Use the preview slide show to get an idea of how long the presentation is and how well information flows from one slide to the next. Part 2. Once you have some content in your slides, you can start adding some effects to help make it a bit more interesting for your audience.
Select a slide and click the Transitions tab. You will see a list of the most common transitions. You can also click the arrow at the end of the list to open the full listing of available transitions. When you pick a transition, it will affect how that slide appears.
For example, adding a transition to Slide 2 will affect how Slide 1 transitions into Slide 2. You will be able to see a preview in the slide editing window when you click each transition. Don’t add too much transitions to your presentation. This can be distracting to the audience and keeps them from focusing on your what is the most important which is your content.
Add backgrounds. Plain white is boring. If your presentation is standard text on a plain white background, half of your audience will be asleep before you reach the third slide. Use subtle backgrounds to add a little visual flair to your project. Right-click on a blank section of your slide and select “Format Background”, or click the Design tab and the click the arrow icon next to “Background” on the far right.
Choose your fill type. You can choose a solid color, a gradient fill, a picture background, or a pattern fill. Selecting each choice will display several options for it, such as fill color, picture location, gradient settings, and more. Experiment until you find the background that fits your presentation. By default, the background will only be applied to your active slide. Click the “Apply to All” button to apply your background choices to every slide. Make sure that your text is still easily readable with the background you choose.
Add images. Adding pictures, diagrams, and other visual aids can help the audience grasp the ideas of your presentation and drive your point home. Images break up the monotony of text and help keep the audience from tuning out. Click the Insert tab. There will be a large number of options when it comes to inserting objects. Click the Picture button to insert a picture from a file on your computer. You can click the Photo Album button to insert an entire album of photos into the slide as well.
Use the Charts button to insert easy-to-read charts that will help the audience understand your data. Once you choose your Chart type, Excel will open, allowing you to enter in your data or copy it from an existing spreadsheet. Use the Shapes button to insert pre-made shapes or dray your own.
You can use the shapes to outline important text or create arrows and other visual indicators. Avoid drowning your presentation with pictures.
If it looks too busy, the audience will have a hard time parsing your written information. Add links. You can add links to your slides that will allow you to quickly access websites or email addresses. This can be especially useful if you are distributing the presentation and want people to be able to easily view related webpages or send you an email.
To add a link, place your cursor in a text box and then click the Hyperlink button on the Insert tab.
You can choose to link to a file on your computer, a webpage, an email address, or even another slide in your presentation. You can add video files to your slides. This can be useful for reports or any other video file that may relate to your presentation.
The video file will play when the slide appears. While it’s not as straightforward, you can embed YouTube videos as well. See this guide to learn how. Part 3.
One moment, please – More resources
And this is important, because based on our experience, the PPT average only knows between 10 to 30 PowerPoint shortcuts. This shortcut guide covers over shortcuts in PowerPoint that will dramatically improve your productivity! This guide is NOT designed to be consumed in one sitting…this is not a cram session for some pretend PowerPoint exam… and we are not handing out gold stars here. To see a break out a shorter list of our 80 favorite PowerPoint shortcuts, see our guide here.
First off though, these two shortcuts work in all versions of Microsoft PowerPoint. They also work on a Mac. It sounds like a repeat shortcut, but it plays a very strategic role in PowerPoint, and is definitely worth memorizing. That gives you an insurance policy to go back to your original layout, if you make a bunch of changes that you end up not liking. Just make sure to hit F12 to save your new presentation with a new name.
Can be very handy in certain situations. The same is true for when working with your slide numbers in PowerPoint, details here. If you start on a title slide and use either keyboard shortcut, you will get a blank slide of the next type of slide in your deck…which is the layout directly following your title slide as dictated by your Slide Master. For additional details on these New Slide shortcuts, read our guide here.
Creating Hyperlinks in PowerPoint is useful for two main reasons: 1: Navigational Features Adding hyperlinks allows you to create navigational or interactive features in your presentations by allowing you to jump around within your deck from one slide to another , open other programs, navigate to websites, etc.
For example, software engineers use hyperlinks to simulate the opening and closing of different file menus that they have mocked up in PowerPoint. A clever trick for avoiding this pesky formatting, is to add your hyperlink to the shape that your text is within, instead of the text itself. This way you get your hyperlink functionality with your shape, without inheriting the hyperlink formatting on your text.
To learn how to hyperlink in PowerPoint read our guide here. This formatting shortcut is significantly faster than hunting around in the file menus for your chart formatting options… no matter how fast you are at working with your charts! This works even if the chart element is not visible on your chart. Hitting this shortcut activates the animation painter, which allows you to then apply your sequence of animations to other objects in PowerPoint. These are critical for anyone who wants to save time in PowerPoint.
The clipboard is a great way to collect a number of items across the Microsoft Office suite, and paste them onto your slides in one go. To turn on the clipboard copy feature of PowerPoint, follow these steps:. Doing so opens up the paste special dialog box, allowing you to choose your preferred picture type, including the Metafile format.
This is extremely useful when trying to extract information out of a table or break a chart down into things that you can easily format in PowerPoint. Objects can also be part of more than one group. For example, you can first group two rectangles together as a box layout and then take that box layout and group it together with a chart. To learn more about grouping in PowerPoint, see our guide here. These shortcuts are incredibly simple, and yet, so powerful. Once you learn them, you will never want to reach for your mouse to manipulate your shapes again!
Once the pane is open, you can either navigate ti with your keyboard for the more advanced keyboard users , or simply use your mouse which is good enough for most things. To open the pane in PPT , from the Home tab, select the Arrange tool drop down and then select the Selection Pane at the bottom of the dropdown.
Normally, you can click something with your mouse to activate it in PowerPoint. Look for the underlined letters in the words within the dialog box, which you can activate by holding the ALT key and hitting those letters on your keyboard. To learn how to use the strikethrough shortcut click here. These shortcuts allow you to quickly navigate, select, edit and rearrange blocks of text… which is likely what you are dong ALL DAY long.
Of all the places to lose time when working under a tight deadline, the last thing you want to stumble on is simply flipping through and arranging your presentations. These efforts create new value, improve your skill and are hard to replicate. For more details about these two shortcuts including the brand-new one , see our article here. An example of using the drawing guides is setting the left side of your slide where you want all of your objects to start on each and every slide.
Once the line is set, you can then see that line on all of your slides and layout your content accordingly. Typically you only need the ruler for adjusting your bullet point spacing, so having a quick way to turn it on and off is handy. What these do is allow you to rotate between the open panes in the PowerPoint environment of which there are five default ones and any other panes or dialog boxes that you have open.
Also, both of these panes have very useful keyboard shortcuts associated with them. So after opening it, hit F6 on your keyboard and you will rotate to it, and use your other select pane shortcuts.
The Outline View is great for managing large presentations, as it allows you to quickly cycle through, rearrange and evaluate your content at a 30, foot view.
To use all of the Outline View shortcuts, you need to be active in the Outline View from your keyboard… you cannot just select it with your mouse. See the Navigating Active Panes shortcuts for more. To expand your knowledge and learn more about using Outline View in PowerPoint, read our guide here. Closing vs. Creating and opening presentations. It is a subtle difference, but if you are frequently opening and closing presentations, these shortcuts will help you jump start your search more effectively depending on where you want to start.
Save As F12 is a slightly more advanced version of the Save shortcut, as it allows you to save your file with a new name, change its save location or change its file type.
The most frequently used alternative file type is the PDF file format, which you can select in the drop down. Two of the often overlooked printing options are the Notes pages and the Outline View.
To learn how to print multiple slides per page using the Print dialog box, read our guide here. You can use the Save As F12 shortcut to protect your presentation by saving it as the Picture Slideshow file type.
Doing so turns your presentation into pictures that someone can run natively in PowerPoint in Slideshow mode, but cannot edit. To learn more click here. You have two inking options in PowerPoint the pen and the highlighter which allow you draw on your slides during your presentation to make your point visually.
To pre-ink your slide, simply open the ink tools, which you can find on the Review tab. You can then draw on your slides however you like and make your notes. I find the Start from Current Slide the most flexible for spot checking your content in fullscreen mode, and rehearsing individual slides in the new Presenter View. Although it might appear to take more time, it makes spotting embarrassing presentation errors significantly easier when you are simple-mindedly focused on a specific error.
For example, if you want to jump to slide number 22, hit 2, then 2, and then ENTER and you will jump to slide A third option is to use hyperlinks, which you can also navigate to from your keyboard in Slideshow mode. See our guide here for details. For example, you could search for the name of your product to jump to its description. So just be careful. By a sweeping technique, I simply mean working through your slides accomplishing a single task at a time, like changing font or fill colors, outlines, text size, etc.
When sweeping through your deck, if you use one of the Repeat Last Action commands, you can simply repeat your last action over and over again, saving yourself a lot of clicking around and wasted time.
As demonstrated in the video above, you can change the limit of how many Undo commands you can perform. You’ll also get our newsletter with the best PPT tips on the web, which you can unsubscribe from with one click.
We collect and protect your information in accordance to our Privacy Policy.
Free PowerPoint Tutorial at GCFGlobal.One moment, please
Get it now with a Microsoft subscription. Now you can easily insert 3D objects and embedded animations directly into PowerPoint decks from your own files or a library of content.
Easily ink onto a slide, then convert handwritten notes into text and make hand-drawn shapes perfect in seconds. With Presenter Coach, practice your speech and get recommendations on pacing, word choice, and more through the power of AI. Always know where you are in the editing process.
With the while you were away feature, track recent changes made by others in your decks. See how task management in Microsoft works as an integrated experience that lets you assign, manage, and complete tasks across your favorite apps including PowerPoint. Microsoft PowerPoint Get it now with a Microsoft subscription. Buy now For home For business. Try for free For home For business. Looking to use PowerPoint on the web? Sign in.
Microsoft PowerPoint. Try for home. Try for business. Buy for home. Buy for business. Send now. Your message is being sent. Your message has been sent, please check your device shortly. Your message has been sent, please check your email shortly. We’re sorry, an error occurred while sending your message. Please try again shortly. Please enter a valid digit phone number. Format: or email address. That email address is not valid. Please enter your email address in valid format such as name example.
How your email address is used. Microsoft will use your email address only for this one-time transaction. Create well-designed, impactful slides with the help of Designer and Ideas in PowerPoint. Task management with PowerPoint and Microsoft See how task management in Microsoft works as an integrated experience that lets you assign, manage, and complete tasks across your favorite apps including PowerPoint.
Learn more. Ready to create great presentations with Microsoft ? See plans and pricing. More information about PowerPoint. See more from Microsoft PowerPoint Collaborate on shared projects Get commonly used Office features and real-time co-authoring capabilities through your browser. Use PowerPoint on Office. Jumpstart your design Show your style and professionalism with templates, plus save time. Browse PowerPoint templates in over 40 categories. Get free templates.
Read the blog. Host large-scale virtual presentations? Read more. Android is a trademark of Google Inc.
