Looking for:
The themes were introduced in powerpoint 2007
Templates in PowerPoint are similar to the design templates found in pre versions. A template is any presentation you plan to reuse. Templates typically define custom slide layouts and, in some cases, generic content. Every template has a theme. Themes in PowerPoint are more accurately referred to as Office Themes, since you can use the same.
It also describes which fonts and graphic effects to use; for example, some themes automatically add shadows to title text and blurring to the shapes you add to your slides. The alternative is to create the presentation file and then apply the theme, as described on Section 1. PowerPoint only lets you apply PowerPoint-supplied themes when you create a presentation.
On the left side of the New Presentation window, click Installed Themes. Click a theme to select it. A larger version of the theme appears in the preview area the right side of the New Presentation window.
The New Presentation window disappears and you see a new presentation based on the theme you selected. Instead of clicking a theme and then clicking Create, you can save a step by simply double-clicking the theme. To try it out, click the Office button and then, from the list of Recent Documents that appears, choose an existing document. Select the file you want to open, as described in Figure , and then click Create New. The New from Existing Presentation window disappears, and the presentation you selected appears in your PowerPoint workspace.
PowerPoint gives the presentation a new, generic name PowerPoint2, PowerPoint3, and so on to remind you to rename the file before you save it. Creating a new presentation from an old one is very similar to creating a new presentation from a template, as you saw on Section 1. The Open window gives you more options for opening an existing presentation than the New from Existing window does.
The Open window shown in Figure appears. Choose one of the following options:. Opens the selected file. Opens the presentation file, but renames it Copy 1 filename. Tells PowerPoint to fix a corrupted file before it tries to open it. A theme is a collection of characteristics including colors, fonts, and graphic effects such as whether the shapes you add to your slides have drop shadows.
But applying themes gives you more bang for your buck in several important ways:. Using themes is quicker than changing individual settings one at a time. Applying a theme is a two-click proposition.
Changing the dozen-plus settings controlled by a theme would exercise your click finger a lot more than that. Using themes helps ensure a decent-looking, readable slide. Consistency is an important design principle: it sets the tone for your presentation and lets your audience focus on your message. When you change settings manually, you can end up with a distracting mishmash of colors and fonts on a single slide or across slides.
Not so with themes. Once you apply a theme, the theme takes control of your settings. For example, if you change the subtitle color from white to black, then PowerPoint automatically adjusts the background color and other settings so that your subtitle text is still readable.
But you can also override theme settings. Section 3. Using themes lets you create a consistent look and feel across Microsoft Office-produced materials. You can use the same themes you use in PowerPoint in Word and Excel, too. When you apply the same theme to your Word documents, Excel spreadsheets, and PowerPoint slides, you end up with a consistently presented, harmonious whole.
The Design ribbon appears, complete with a Theme gallery Figure Click the More icon at the bottom-right corner of the Themes section Figure Additional themes appear in the gallery, as shown in Figure Mouse over the themes in the gallery one by one.
PowerPoint applies the selected theme to all of the existing slides in your presentation, as well as all the new slides you create.
For details, check out Chapter 4. See the box for advice on how much prose to add to your presentation. Knowing that, the PowerPoint designers made it easy for you to add text to your slides. The following sections show you how. Blank presentations come complete with title and subtitle placeholder text boxes. To replace the placeholder text in either of these two text boxes with your own text, simply click inside the placeholder and begin typing.
When you do, two things happen:. PowerPoint displays the Drawing Tools Format tab and, on the Home ribbon, activates many of the text formatting options Figure You can use these options to change the font, size, and color of your text, turn your text into a right-justified paragraph or a bullet point, and much more. Chapter 3 describes your options in detail. Resize and transform handles appear at the corners and edges of the text box Figure Tiny white resize handles , which are square on the edges of the text box and circular on the corners, let you stretch or shrink your text box by dragging them.
The circular green transform handle appears above the top of your text box and lets you tilt it. Drag the handles to tilt or resize your text box. Chapter 3 shows you how to format text boxes, as well as the text inside them. Chapter 5 shows you how to add placeholder text boxes to slide masters.
There are two schools of thought when it comes to using text in PowerPoint presentations. One says text is king; the other advises PowerPointers to use as little text as possible.
According to the more-bullets-the-better crowd, a presentation is text. Text distracts. And if your audience does read your slides, that means they are busy reading and forming opinions instead of paying attention to the actual presentation which is you.
According to these folks, using a lot of text results in lazily constructed, ineffective, and boring brain-dumps-disguised-as-presentations. These folks believe the best use of PowerPoint is carefully chosen charts, graphs, and worth-a-thousand-word pictures.
And you can always give them handouts containing those all-important bullet points after the show, if you must. So which approach should you take? It depends. Ultimately, you get to make the call. The Insert ribbon Figure appears. On the Insert ribbon, click Text Box. When you mouse over your slide, you notice that your cursor looks like a tiny down arrow.
Here is a list of frequently asked questions and their answers compiled by FYIcenter. I want to show the growth of my sales revenue. You can easily add a chart on any PowerPoint slide in 5 steps. Open the slide that you want to add the picture on. Click the SmartArt ico I want my shapes to be lined up straight horizontally.
You can easily line up shapes in a diagram straight horizontal or vertically in 4 steps. Select all shapes you want to line up. Click the Home menu.
Click the Arrange ic All rights in the contents of this web site are reserved by the individual author. Use Notepad for Sour How to configure Mozilla Firefox to use Notepad to edit Web page source code? By default, when you u In both of these programs, the Themes are found in a location different than PowerPoint.
When you apply a Theme in PowerPoint, you add a set of coordinated backdrops, layouts, fonts, effects, colors, etc. Let’s just say you want to change just the colors and fonts, and retain everything else in your presentation. Can you do that? Sure you can!
You can create your own custom templates and store them, reuse them, and share them with others. See Create and save a PowerPoint template. You can also find hundreds of different types of free templates for PowerPoint that you can apply to your presentation:. Here are some examples of the free templates available there:.
Generally this text or content is only editable from the slide master. This example shows the light blue solid fill background. Download free, pre-built templates. Create your own theme in PowerPoint. Create and save a PowerPoint template. In this article: What is a theme? Need more help?
❿
❿
The themes were introduced in powerpoint 2007
Adding a theme is as easy as ‘one, two, three.’ Open your presentation, click on the Design tab and choose a design. As you can see in the. That’s because the entire PowerPoint interface has changed. As you saw in the Introduction, Microsoft has done away with toolbars, renamed and reorganized. By default, PowerPoint applies the plain, Office theme to new presentations. To apply a different theme, click the Design tab and choose a new theme.❿
❿
